Adult coloring craze…

So one of the rules in our house is no screen time an hour before bed. (Tv, phones tablets etc…) I’ve read numerous studies about how limiting screen time, especially before bed, can help you sleep better. Since we started this, I can really tell a difference in my sleeping habits, as well as the kids.

Before we started this, I usually either played games on my phone or read a book before bed. Reading before bed has never worked out well for me though, as I am one of those people who needs to finish a book in one sitting. So I turned to my other favorite pastime, coloring.

I LOVE TO COLOR. It’s always been one of my favorite things to do, but easy for me to put down and start back up later (which makes it perfect to do before bed!) Before all these fancy adult coloring books came out, I always had kid coloring books and a big box of crayola crayons on hand. Now that adult coloring is the cool thing to do, I’ve upgraded ;). Since this craze doesn’t seem to be going anywhere any time soon, I figured I would share my collection and my favorite things to color with!

Here is my book collection.

image

Now some of you may be thinking this is a bit excessive, especially since just a single page in one of these books can take HOURS to color. There is so much detail in these books, but that’s what makes it fun. Having multiple coloring books allows me to have a large variety of things to color, especially since I enjoy coloring with different mediums. All of these books are super fun to color in, and range in levels of difficulty.

As far as mediums go, these are what I currently use. For more intricate pages, I turn to my trusty Staedtler triplus fineliners. These pens are my FAVORITE thing to color with The tips are small enough to do intricate coloring, and they DON’T BLEED THROUGH THE PAGES! They’re also really nice to write with. When I was looking at reviews before my husband bought them for me, I noticed a lot of people love them for writing in planners.

image

The only negative thing I have to say about these, are the limited color choices. There’s only 36 colors. I’m hoping since they have become so popular, there will be more colors released in the near future! Johanna Basford (illustrator who brought us the coloring books Secret Garden, Enchanted Forest etc) personally uses these and recommends them.

Here are a few pages I’ve colored using only the triplus fineliners.

image

image

image

image

^ that bunny took me almost 3 weeks to finish…

Even though I’ve moved on to more intricate coloring these days, I’m still a big fan of crayons as well. My brand of choice is Crayola. Heres a few I’ve done in crayon…

image

image

Last but not least, we have colored pencils. I actually really used to dislike colored pencils, but they’re growing on me. I have two sets, a crayola 12 pack and a generic 12 pack that came with an art journal I got for Christmas. Im really considering purchasing a nice set of prismacolor pencils here soon. Here is a page done with colored pencils…

image

I really love how these flowers turned out.

All in all, I’m really glad Adult Colring seems to be sticking around for a while. Coloring really is a wonderful stress reliever and wonderful hobby that anyone can do.

What do you guys think? Do you color too? If so, I would love to see your work and favorite books to color in!!!

Happy coloring!

-September

One thought on “Adult coloring craze…

Leave a Reply

